In Portrait (DVD)


Jacqueline du Pré and the Elgar Cello Concerto, a documentary by award-winning film maker Christopher Nupen, explores the artistic personality of one of the finest performing musicians of the twentieth century, with the recurring theme of her special relationship with the Elgar’s melancholy Cello Concerto. The film begins with an account of what she did after the onset of her illness when she could no longer perform in public. It ends, at her own request, with a re-edited version of the original portrait film which sketches her childhood and the development of her musical talent, her meeting with Daniel Barenboim and their marriage in 1967, her special relationship with the Elgar concerto and, finally, a complete performance of the work with The New Philharmonia Orchestra conducted by Daniel Barenboim; a performance which has become legendary. This DVD portrait also includes Nupen's film The Ghost, which features a performance of Beethoven's Piano Trio No. 5. This is the first in a series of Christopher Nupen films on DVD. (From editorial description) DVD release September 21, 2004.

See Allegro Films Website

Elgar, Sir Edward: Concerto for Cello in E minor, op. 85
New Philharmonia Orchestra - Daniel Barenboim

Beethoven: Trio for Piano and Strings no 5 in D major, Op. 70 no 1 "Ghost"
Daniel Barenboim - Piano;
Pinchas Zukerman - Violin;


Daniel Barenboim
Sir John Barbirolli
William Pleeth

 Jacqueline du Pré - Cello


©2005 Allegro Films

Picture Format: 4:3/16:9 • Subtitles: GB, D, F • Sound Format: LPCM Stereo,
DD 5.1, DTS 5.1

Amazon Buying Info

(I am not affiliated with or compensated by Amazon.com)

Jacqueline du PréDiscographiesBooks & FilmsMemorabiliaLinks

This tribute and all related pages are conceived and designed by Miguel Muelle purely as a labor of love, meant solely for the pleasure of all those who are interested in Jacqueline Du Pré. All photographs are credited where possible, and all recordings and corresponding photographs used are assumed to be copyright and property of EMI Records, Ltd., unless otherwise acknowledged.